Hancock Building in Boston

View on Flickr

I bought my first digital camera in July of 2005. I had just received my first raise from my first job post-college gradutation (I’m still there) and I wanted to treat myself to something.

It was a Kodak Z740 Zoom. I ended up taking it everywhere I went. Purchasing that camera marks the start of my pic snapping hobby/obsession.

I believe it was Memorial Day weekend in 2006 when I was sitting at home bored and decided to bring my camera into Boston and just walk around. I’d never heard the term “photo walk” before, but that’s pretty much what I was planning on doing. That was when I took what is still to this day my absolute favorite picture (that doesn’t include my wife and my step kids, obviously).

View on Flickr

Just over four years later my wife, step kids, and I went into town for a duck tour. Despite living my whole life only 20–30 miles out of town I had never done a duck tour before. After it was over we wandered around the city and ended up on Clarendon Street in front of the Hancock. I tried to reproduce that first picture using a Nikon D90. It just wasn’t the same.

View on Flickr

Every so often I get the itch to go back to the city and take another shot at topping the original. Who knows. Maybe next summer I’ll try again.

Leave a Reply

