The Day Before Thanksgiving

Well hello there. Welcome to the annual The Day Before Thanksgiving is the Longest Work Day of the Year post! I’m glad you could make it.

Have you ever noticed that? The four day weekend (for many of us) is looming. It’s Wednesday. Tomorrow is Thanksgiving. The clock seems to be moving slower and slower as the day wears on. I’ve been at work for about 12 hours now and somehow it’s only 10:45. I don’t get it. The antici-

-pation is unbearable.

So tomorrow is Thanksgiving again. It’s pretty much my favorite holiday. That probably explains why the whole household gets seriously sick on this day each year. My wife is at home suffering from a major cold. I am at work and I can feel that same cold bug starting to take over. I’ve a little sore throat and a little stuffy nose. By the time we’re ready to eat the turkey tomorrow I’ll be 75% dead and without the strength to lift a fork full of bird to my mouth.

Assuming my beloved and I are healthy enough to join in the holiday festivities tomorrow (that’s a big “if” at this point), we will be celebrating with my side of the family at my brother’s house. My step kids will be with their father and that royally sucks, but it’s part of the deal. I don’t like it, but there’s nothing we can do about it. My niece and three nephews should be there, although the annual sickness is tearing through my siblings’ houses as well as mine so who knows.

I have decided to create a list of topics that should be off limits for Thanksgiving Day discussions. These have not been agreed to by the rest of the family, but I am throwing them out there in the hopes that we can end all arguments before they begin. The list is:

  • Politics
  • The election
  • Fascism
  • Donald Trump
  • Hillary Clinton
  • Politics
  • The Republican party
  • Nazis
  • Politics
  • The Democratic party
  • Racism/Bigotry
  • Politics
  • Fascism
  • Politics
  • Politics
  • Politics

I think we might want to add politics to the list as well.

So I’ve spent six hours writing this post and it’s still only 10:53. The clock has only moved eight minutes. This is crazy. Clearly the day before Thanksgiving is The Longest Work Day of the Year.

HoHoHo and all that crap.

Leave a Reply

