Happy Red Sox Opening Day

I’m sitting at my desk at work, eating lunch.  Patiently I wait for 2:05 PM Eastern Daylight Savings Time for that is the scheduled start time of the Boston Red Sox 2017 season opener.

My bologna sandwich is good, but the first win on the road to another world series championship for the Sox would be better.

We start the season at home this year which, given the fact we had a nor’easter two days ago, seems risky.  It’s supposed to be a nice day though so we have that going for us.  The reining Cy Young Award winner Rick Porcello is our opening day starting pitcher.  Last year I jokingly referred to him as Cy Young Porcello when he won his first game.  Much to my surprise he just kept winning which kinda made me feel like I called it… even though I was trying to make fun of him after his crappy 2015 season.  Sorry about that, Rick.

Opening day is an interleague game.  I find that a little annoying.  I never liked interleague play.  It was a gimmick before and now it’s making me feel like a grumpy old man.  Hey Pittsburgh Pirates!  Get off my Fenway lawn!  I’m hoping that the work stars will align to let me listen to the game on the radio.  I don’t know.  It’s been busy today. Lunch time has been a lull.  That sometimes means that everyone is saving up the hurt for just after lunch.  Does that happen at other companies too? Probably.

Anyway, good luck to my home town team, the Boston Red Sox.  They surprised us all last season by winning their division and making it to the playoffs.  Here’s hoping they can top that this year.

Go Red Sox!

1 thought on “Happy Red Sox Opening Day”

  1. I couldn’t agree with you more about interleague play. I can’t understand the need for it. The AL plays the NL in the World Series, which is supposed to be the best two teams from each league, playing against each other. What’s the point of doing that during the regular season, except to add more games and make the World Series extend to late October or maybe even going into November when it’s like 30 degrees outside, especially at night because as we all know, day games don’t exist in the World Series. Ugh!

    Like

Leave a Reply

