Backyard Discovery

I know I’ve been talking about our patio adventures a lot lately.  You’re probably bored to tears with it.  I don’t care, the posts will continue.

We moved into this little house back in September of 2010.  In all that time there has never been a light in the back yard.  Because of that, there has never been a time when we made use of the backyard after dark.  Well… once, during a meteor shower I went out there in the whee hours of the morning to look at shooting stars.  I took a big flashlight with me.

Now that we have something to draw us out back, the patio and the gazebo (thanks again, Sherman!), I have found myself out there after dark a couple of times.  My beloved wife recently bought a box of four little battery operated lanterns.  We keep one in the garage and one under the gazebo.  Those suckers are incredibly bright.  When we need them we keep them on the floor because if we hang them they will blind everyone in a 30 mile radius.

So there I was tonight, my MacBook on the table streaming Game of Thrones on HBONow, the lantern on the floor, one of those candles that is supposed to drive away mosquitoes lit up on the table.  A lovely evening (would have been nicer with more of a breeze, but you don’t think I am complaining, do you?).

I heard a noise behind me, coming from the woods.  I turned to look and saw two eyes glowing in the dark staring back at me.  Yup, really.  Well, that’s how it seemed.  After a snippet of Robert Johnson lyric passed through my pea brain…

I got to keep movin’, I got to keep movin’
Blues fallin’ down like hail, blues fallin’ down like hail
Hmmm-mmm, blues fallin’ down like hail, blues fallin’ down like hail
And the days keeps on worryin’ me
There’s a hellhound on my trail, hellhound on my trail
Hellhound on my trail

…I realized what it was.  Fireflies.  Lightning Bugs.  Lots of them.

I looked away for a second then looked back.  There were probably 8-10 of them lit up.  I looked away and then back again.  There were probably 10-15 of them.

It is entirely possible that we live in the firefly capital of the Northeast.

How cool is that?

Leave a Reply

